How to combat Racism

Racism is such a horrible thing that is STILL happens today. Today while I was out for lunch with my eleven-year-old brother, he told me something that I will never be able to accept from him. Not only because I think he is perfect the way he is, it’s because he is only ELEVEN!

“I wish I was born white!”

It’s so hard to accept the fact that racism happens in every age, not only in adults. I asked my brother “Why?” and he told me that because “Being white is better than being brown.” I’m in shock because my parents always tell us to never be ashamed of who we are and how we look.

What I want to share is that the only way we can move forward in life is realizing that the colour of someone’s skin does NOT define who they are. Moving to Winnipeg as a young indigenous girl, it was really difficult to find my true self. I was called so many negative names and I was always asked: “Why is your skin so dark?”

The way I am helping combat racism is by, Blogging! I remember feeling so tired of all the negative things I was told in life because of who I was and thinking and asking myself:

“How can I help end Racism – Not in a negative way, but in a positive way?”

So that’s really when it all started, I can honestly say that I was terrified of starting a blog. First things first, I didn’t know how to start a blog, or what I was going to write about. I was NOT a good writer and I was very nervous on the kind of feedback I would get from people. The biggest thing that encouraged me was the fact that is, If no one is doing anything to end racism – then who will? Just like my story and how I started my journey in joining the movement to end Racism, there are much more. It’s your time to pick up the pen and get writing! After the small conversation with my younger brother I want to help people know that YOU can make all the difference in the world by joining the movement to end Racism. It isn’t much but here is a couple ways that can help you start your story on combating racism.

  1. Be willing to listen: A good start is to just stop and being there to listen. Everyone has their stories, and it’s such a privilege to be one of the people to hear someone’s story.
  2. Stay Optimistic: Another good thing is to stay optimistic, there’s no minimum amount of racism you had to deal with to share your story. Small things that leave a HUGE impact on someone’s feelings – good and bad! So when someone shared their story with you, staying optimist will help.
  3. Ask questions: There is no such thing as too many questions. There is also no such thing as a “stupid question” it’s a good thing to do because the more you ask, the more you learn.
  4. Talk with your family about it: Getting your family involved to help end racism would be fantastic! It’s great doing things you love with the people you love.
  5. Be Inclusive: This is super important because it’s a way to ensure that everyone is included.
  6. Don’t be ashamed: Maybe you’re thinking your peers will tease you. Just always remember, to ignore the negatives. There will always be obstacles that come in life – but that’s your time to show your strength.

I really hope you the best in helping to combat racism. It’s something that is still happening, and if you are watching the current news – it’s devastating because we’re all the same…. humans. Just always remember that the only way to move forward in life is to realize that we’re all the same and that no one is better than anyone else. Thanks! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

