Update!

Hey everyone,

It’s been just over a month since I’ve last posted, so I thought I’d give you all an update on things I have been busy with. Aside from all the events, speaks, work, school, etc – I have also been having some issues with season change sickness. Here are just some of the few things I have been taking part this past month.

  1. United Way Winnipeg: Speaker’s Bureau- This year I decided that I wanted to volunteer my voice to the UWW Speaker’s Bureau. United Way has played such a crucial role in my life without me even knowing it. Shortly after We Day Manitoba last year I learned that some of the important after-school programs I was involved with are funded by United Way. So the thought of giving back to the organization that gave to me was definitely something I wanted to do. Through the Speaker’s Bureau, I was able to meet some of the biggest contributors to UWW, but also I was able to meet some amazing community leaders of Winnipeg. Such as Mayor Brian Bowman, Premiere Brian Pallister, City Councillor Mike Pagtakhan, etc.
  2. United Way Winnipeg: Council for Indigenous Relations- Another thing I have been busy with was the Council for Indigenous Relations. As the only youth on this committee, it is great to represent youth. It’s a wonderful way to get to meet new people, also a great way to contribute to making the world a better place. Connecting the Indigenous community with the non-indigenous community is interesting because it’s something I haven’t done before. So it’s a great new experience.
  3. NorWest Co-op Community Health: Youth Ambassadors for Mental Health- I have been part of this youth advisory committee for about 7 months and it has been the best 7 months so far. We have been helping plan an integrated youth space in the community of Inkster/ Seven Oaks area. Recently we announced that RBC has given us a generous donation of 100k – which we are truly honored and extremely thankful. We definitely know that youth are going to be helped with this new space. For more info on this committee, follow us on Twitter @NorWestYouthHub
  4. Unifor: Human Rights Conference- In September, I had the honor of being asked to sit on a Human Rights Panel in Port Elgin, ON. This conference was to get more people talking about Human Rights. There were over 150 Human Rights Activists present for this conference which was something that I will NEVER forget. The passion that was in one room was very amazing. I spoke about Aboriginal issues in Canada. One thing I left the delegates with was a challenge – to stop and think about something that they did to raise awareness on these issues. One highlight I have from this trip was meeting Susan Agulkark, she is one of my role-models because she proves that regardless of the stereotypes if you have a dream – just go for it!
  5. Peace of Mind 204: YAMIS- Youth Against Mental Illness Stigma is something that I 100% support. I believe that when we all add our voices together, we are heard and when we are heard, we are changing the world. When we speak up about our own experiences we can help other people raise their voices too – when more people talk about their experiences, we are ending the stigma for sure. One thing I am proud about this generation is how strong we actually are. Youth aren’t only the future, but the present too! I was able to speak with students in attendance about finding your spark, lighting it and keeping it going. Also to stay strong and never be ashamed of who you are, because you’re the writer of your story, so never stop writing – you never know if your story is inspiring others to keep writing theirs.
  6. Becoming a Future Politician- One day I went to the Legislative Building to get a tour, to meet some people, but to also sit through my first Manitoba Legislative Assembly meeting while at the same time honoring the life of one my role-models, Larry Morrissette. Larry was one of the four elders that founded the Bear Clan, a group that protects and patrols the North End helping protect our women and children. One of my biggest goals in life is to become a politician, ever since I was younger I wanted to be a Journalist and a Politician – so maybe one day I will be one.

These are just a couple of the things I have been busy with this past month. I didn’t include everything or the next few things I will be participating in. If you want to follow me with everything I am doing you can follow me on Twitter: @Shania_Pruden or follow my blog. I will definitely start writing more once I get more time to myself. Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

