This is me

One thing that I’ve learned this past year is you don’t have to have lots of money, be a certain age or certain race to make a difference in your community.

Growing up we didn’t have much. We lived in the Northend of Winnipeg. We were new to the city, so we had to start somewhere right? One thing I remember from when I was younger was watching my mom go through some of the worst things possible, watching her cry and still being able to get back on her feet. Regardless on what happened to her and us, she still managed keep smiling and to help others. She has taught me that you don’t need to have everything to make you be happy. So since we didn’t have much, I started to find ways that I can stay happy and still be helping people. I started volunteering when I was ten years old. I volunteered wherever I can. I didn’t care if I didn’t get paid, what I really cared about it how I am making a difference in someone’s life or in my community. What I noticed when I would be volunteering is how the adults didn’t let me challenge myself. Thinking now, I sort of wished they did let me challenge myself because I think the best time to challenge yourself would have to be when you are young.

From my personal experiences, I think you should never let anyone tell you that you can’t do it. I was always told that I wouldn’t get far in life because I was aboriginal and living in poverty. I started believing what people were saying to me but, when I realized that my future is based on how I make it and not how others want it, I decided to not let anyone bring me down because I knew that I was going to become the person I want to be and not who other people want. So if you want to become something or do something then I think you should just do it because people shouldn’t decide your life. You have you own right to be who you want to be.

Looking back from when I was ten to now, I see a lot of growth and I’m really proud that I didn’t let the negative thoughts people had against me stand in the way of me becoming me. I’m not ashamed of my past because I believe that my past was what made me the person I am today, and I am not ashamed of who I am. Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

Regards,

Shania

Leave a Reply

